Klaraflame
From Here to There to Japan One Day

Escaflowne

Escaflowne series group

“Was it all a dream?… Or maybe a vision?… No. It was real…”

Otherwise known as The Vision of Escaflowne or Tenkuu no Escaflowne, directed by Kazuki Akane, who is also associated with Samurai Champloo, Cowboy Bebop and also Ergo Proxy. Once again this anime used to be one of my childhood indulgences, every evening at about seven o’clock on Fox Kids, (the censored version) ūüôā Although I kept annoying my siblings with incessant chatter about this series, it never occurred to me to actually purchase the series. I was silly enough to think that Escaflowne would never be pulled from the schedule as it was simply awesome,¬†especially because of¬†the design of the dragons. My older sister, Alexia, was shrewd enough to know that I would be overjoyed with the Escaflowne series for Christmas. The¬†postal¬†service must have had¬†a muddle¬†up,¬†as¬†the Escaflowne box¬†set¬†she ordered¬†in November didn’t arrive¬†until¬†the following March.

The anime, The Vision of Escaflowne is was created first and the a spinoff manga written by Katsu Aki. The differences between the anime versions and the manga version are immense. The anime series Escaflowne, the feature length movie Escaflowne and the manga have all different character designs. The manga has the lead female protaganist, Hitomi, as a very quiet teenage girl with glasses who then transforms into a blonde, busty, and barely clothed woman whenever she comes into contact with the mecha Escaflowne. In the anime Hitomi has short hair and is much more athletic than her manga persona.

The premise of Escaflowne series about a young girl called Hitomi Kanzaki who ends¬†up being¬†transported¬†to¬†the world of Gaia. Hitomi seems to have an uncanny ability to predict the future especially with her grandmother’s pendant. She¬†ends¬†up meeting¬†the arrogant prince of Fanelia called Van Fanel, who is somewhat is¬†responsible for her appearance on Gaia. As Gaia is¬†about to be in the throes of¬†a¬†war, Van’s¬†homeland Fanelia is¬†destroyed¬†by giant mecha’s called guymelef’s. Van¬†and Hitomi flee Fanelia with¬†the guymelef Escaflowne. Introduce Allen Schezar, an¬†honourable knight of a neighbouring country called Austuria, who helps Van, Hitomi and a cat-girl called Merle. Chaos ensues, causing¬†the group to split¬†up several times during¬†the course of Escaflowne. The Forgotten City of Atlantis, angels, love triangles, war and the power of a single person’s will shape the course of The Vision of Escaflowne anime.

Evidently¬†this anime has expertly blended to appeal¬†to the largest audience possible¬†especially¬†with war,¬†action¬†and mecha’s combined with romance¬†and¬†the idea of fortune.¬†Originally¬†the series¬†was supposed to be around¬†the¬†thirty nine episode mark but it was cut down to twenty six. This explains the rushed¬†feel towards to¬†the penultimate episodes of Escaflowne.

I¬†know¬†that¬†this particular vid has a dance music feel¬†to it¬†but I¬†wanted to get something¬†that¬†wasn’t all violent or all soppy saccharine sweet either. So here’s¬†the Escaflowne series¬†with¬†the remix of Carmina Burana with O Fortuna. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Escaflowne”

  1. One of my favorites Anime, but although it was aired in Mexico in a local tv channel, I didn’t watch it…my sister was crazy about this series, but I didn’t care about it, since the minute I saw the animation, the pointy noses It seemed very girly to my taste…and poor of my sister she was always telling me to watch it but I never listened to her, and the weird thing is that it was only aired once, and the tv channel never repeat it!!! anyway almost 10 years later…I saw the dvd box set and I thought it was a great gift for my sis, so I bought it for her…but I ended up watching it with her, it has the most amazing story, characters and soundtrack, I could say it’s probably the most complete animation that I have ever watched!

    Also great edition..but the OST have really really good songs that could be instead of the remix!

  2. The summary left above on 2 versions of Escaflowne was very good but its not correct in thinking that the anime series was based on the manga,its actually the other way round.The anime series was invented first, then the two manga series and film.
    Thank you.

  3. @Alex Thanks for info on that. The manga I refer to above is the shounen version called Vision of Escaflowne, which I don’t particluarly like. ūüôā


Leave a Reply

