Klaraflame
From Here to There to Japan One Day

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

“Time waits for no one.”

If you’ve read my previous post on this topic, then you’ll that I have two big thank you’s to award. Firstly, the organisers of this event accesscinema.ie and the person responsible for informing me of this event, Damien Mulley.

This movie exceeded all of my expectations. Not only was the movie entertaining and light-hearted, there is simply no comparison between viewing an anime on television and watching it on the large silver screen of cinema. The atmosphere of fresh popcorn and fizzy drinks combined with the fact that you’re in a place that people you are with also have an appreciation for the art of anime, even if you don’t know them. 🙂 To be honest though, I think I teared up a bit when I saw the opening of the anime on the silver screen. Not because of the initial content of the opening with the credits but the fact that, (I’ll say it again) the differences between the two forms of television and cinema are incomparable. I only had the opportunity to see The Girl Who Leapt Through Time during the festival but I have since emailed accesscinema.ie commending them on their choice to showcase Japanese culture. The movie was also subbed which would make sense as it was a Japanese Film Festival but I felt it added a spice of authenticity to the viewing. 

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is also known as The Girl Who Jumps Through Time/Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo or simply TokiKake. The version that I’m referring to is the 2006 animated feature as there have been several previous remakes, especially three live action movies that have used this storyline which was created by Yatsutaka Tsutsui. This particular animated feature is produced by Madhouse Entertainment and is distributed by Kakodawa. Although it was not a massive box office success in Japan, it gained momentum through reviews and word-of-mouth. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time also won many  awards for a feature film, such as: the Grand Prize for the 2006 Japan Media Arts Festival and the Tokyo International Anime Fair just to name a few.

Makoto Konno is a girl who’s always late, clumsy, not very studious and generally misfortunate. As always, Makoto is in a rush and one day, her bicycle brakes refuse to work as she is speeding down a hill towards a train crossing, of course with an oncoming train. Crashing over the barrier into the path of the train, Makoto rewinds time and prevents her death from happening. Realising she has this immense power to reverse time, she uses it so that she can arrive early, cook food instead of burning it, pass her test, avoid mishaps and play baseball for hours with her two best friends Chiake and Kosuke.

Confiding in her aunt, otherwise known as Witch, about her powers, Makoto is told that “time-leaping is a common thing for girl’s her age”. (I know it’s a classic line! 🙂 ) Makoto’s aunt is relieved that her niece only uses her powers for trivial things such as getting up earlier and singing karaoke for ten hours rather than trying to change the world. Through a combination of time leaps, Makoto finds out that she unwittingly affected the friends around her. Kosuke is confessed to by a girl but he refuses her as he says that he doesn’t have time for a relationship since a ‘stupid person’ (Makoto), beat him in the tests (because of time leaping) and he has to work harder. Our heroine time leaps several times in order to get Kosuke to accept and subsquently Makoto’s other best friend Chiaki surprisingly asks her out. Being embarrassed at this sudden request, Makoto time leaps several times so that the situation where he asks her out never happened. Even in the time where this confession never took place and Chiaki didn’t ask her out, Makoto completely avoids him and skulks around the school hiding from him.  

The movie comes to an unexpected climax which appears to build up within the space of a few minutes. The tension is the movie is almost a tangible thing before the final and unexpected conclusion. Overall, I loved this movie and I was happy to discover that The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is released on Monday the 8th of December over here, so I think I might add it to my Christmas list. I highly recommend it.

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time with the song by Erase and Rewind by The Cardigans, I thought it was appropriate.  

3 Responses to “The Girl Who Leapt Through Time”

  1. I am glad you enjoyed the anime – it is one of my all time favorites too 🙂 It seems you really liked to see it on the big screen 🙂

    I really like all your AMV choices. It looks like you spend a long time selecting them because they always have good music and fit the anime well 🙂 Sometime ago I found this AMV.

  2. @Kitsune I really loved this anime I was so happy seeing in it in the cinema. I spend ages looking for good videos but looking thorough my previous blogposts, some of the best amv’s were deleted due to copyright issue’s. So at the moment it’s a bit frustrating. 😦
    Great vid in your post too, resolution is much higher than the one I have. 🙂

  3. […] as I can see, all the movies are subtitled but I wonder if they’d be a decent similarity to The Girl Who Leapt Through Time on the silver screen. […]


Leave a Reply

